As I mentioned here, several of the Exchange 2007 cmdlets have to be run on a 32-bit platform.  The previous post described the setup on Windows XP.  When I tried to replicate this on Windows 7 32-bit, there were a couple of roadblocks.

The first time I tried a mailbox export, it failed.  The first part of the error message was:

The log file directory
'C:\Program Files\Microsoft\Exchange Server\Logging\MigrationLogs'
does not exist.

Everything in the path existed up to the MigrationLogs folder.  I created this folder, and tried again.  This time PowerShell crashed!!!

It turns out that a registry key did not exist.  Using regedit, I created the key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Exchange\Exchange Migration

If you don’t normally run mailbox exports as an administrator, you’ll want to make sure that the account you use has full access to this key.

After that, everything worked as before.

